A ‘Creeping Fate’ excerpt

I thought I’d share this, because someone told me that they’d dated guys like Spencer Black before. I haven’t but I know the type:

Cecilia and Spencer Black were in a coach together, on the way to Reagent’s Park. She’d been happily chatting about Samson for a little while, excited to take him for a walk in the new surroundings.

“Why did you get such a ridiculous little creature? He looks like a mop.” Spencer said, lazily, looking out of the window.

“Excuse me?”

“Why did you get him?” he asked. Looking over.

“My aunt bought him for me. She thought he would be a good excuse for me to take exercise, wake up and get sunlight. I was rather sad, you see. I thought it was rather clever of her. He did help.”

Spencer considered the little dog in her arms, “Like a surrogate child? Hm, that makes sense. I suppose mothers don’t have the liberty of moping around all day.”

Cecilia was quite shocked, and stared at him, unsure of how to respond, “No. I suppose they don’t.”

He seemed to realise he’d distressed her, and shifted into a more amiable state, “Please excuse me, I’ve worked a long day. I’m happy to hear about your little dog, naturally. I didn’t mean to be impolite. May I ask though…”

“Yes?” she said, now quite frosty but trying to hide it. There was something in his voice, when he spoke coldly, that made her uneasy.

“Why do you put a little bow in his hair? Doesn’t it seem a bit absurd?”

“It’s to keep his hair out of his eyes.”

“Why not just cut it? It would be easier to deal with and not look so silly.”

Leave a comment