Lord Aster

Out of all the books I’ve published so far, ‘The Mystery Game’ is my favorite. I’d say it’s in about the top three that I’ve written in total.

A big part of the reason is that, the Vampire Prince, Emanuel Aster was just such a fun character to write. He might be the black sheep of Nightfall’s royal family. Knowing them, because he’s to nice. You can’t really tell though, I think. Here is an excerpt:

“So,” Aster said, now smiling, “what do you think, how are you finding it so far?”

Sinjen laughed to see his expression, his eyes were sparkling and he looked happier than he’d ever seen him. “It hasn’t really started yet. I’ve been trying to guess who the actors are, but that seems fairly easy. And I learnt your first name.”

“Oh? Jack told you?” He laughed, “It’s not a secret, it’s just not a word I’d say too much around our kind. I’m not overly popular as it is.”

“I thought you were popular?” he said with a raised eyebrow.

“No, I never have been, really. I’m too honest, and I don’t sugar coat it.”

Sinjen chuckled, “That’s a good trait, technically.”

“Since when do our people like good traits?” Aster said, with a small smile.

“Do you have any theories yet?”

Aster sighed, “Well, knowing his books, there’s a very reasonable chance that it’s the butler. That’s not my final answer, I’m just stating it in case it turns out to be him later.”

“Ah, it won’t be the butler.” Sinjen laughed, “Not if they’ve invited a reporter. It would have to be something a bit more unexpected.”

Aster smiled, “I’m happy you brought Jack. Is he angry with me?”

Sinjen shook his head. “I don’t think so. I think it was just a shock. Miriam isn’t exactly thrilled.”

Aster looked sympathetic, “I hope someone gets murdered soon.” He said, and sat on his bed.

His thrall laughed. He’d reassembled his weapon, so Sinjen started to back out of the room. “Oh, don’t worry, Sinjen. I need you to eat.”

“That doesn’t sound as reassuring as you meant it to.” he sighed, just as they heard a scream from downstairs.

Aster beamed, and strode out to have a look.

I’m in the process of having my books professionally edited. I guess I just underestimated the scope of editing even what I’ve written already. So, for now, I’m rereading them again and doing one more proofread before that. I’m not sure what to do though. It could take months to get the next one released, if I wait for a professionally edited version. And as it’s very easy to change on KDP, maybe I should release this series in the schedule that I intended and then add a tidied up edition later?

I don’t really know, but I also don’t know that it matters that much. Anyone have any advice about it?

Leave a comment