Excerpt of ‘Sir. Henry’s Heart’

Hey buds,
Here’s an excerpt. I havn’t written a blurb for this one yet, actually. I suppose I don’t need to yet.

The book is now available to read here for free: https://booksprout.co/reviewer/review-copy/view/131207/sir-henrys-heart
You could also join my ARC team: https://booksprout.co/reviewer/team/37057/michaels-team
And the link to the book directly before it: https://booksprout.co/reviewer/review-copy/view/129801/the-girl-from-the-basement
The first book two aren’t up there for now.
and then I have a 3.5 hour audio-book, which is technically related to this one (but not part of the series): https://booksprout.co/reviewer/review-copy/view/129802/creeping-fate
– note: I don’t and can’t set the price for audiobooks, but the retail price for that audiobook is I think at 12 US dollars. So free is better, right? At least while I still have promotional copies.

Chapter 1:

Miriam had never imagined anything so grand as Nightfall castle, and from the way Sinjen had spoken about it, she’d only ever imagined the worst. She’d been severely misled, but not lied to, everything she’d gleaned was entirely true for him.

Richard had brought her here, to her great surprise, after he’d taken her from Harry’s estate and she’d been welcomed as one of the family. It had been the strangest day of her life.

The journal she’d been keeping over the past months, when she was not reading in their great library, was a point of great interest. She’d been told many times that the vampires were looking forward to reading it, and she suspected that they had each been doing their best to craft the impression that they wanted to see in print. She’d been promised a bound copy for her own private keeping, on the condition that they received one too. She re-read the account she had written:

It was a dark night, and the storm that rolled over us as we passed through the last of the German forests, between our carriage and the castle, only made it more so. I could hear wolves howling, but Mort had already warned us that these beasts would not be the normal kind. They would not come near us, but we should not stray from the carriage. Mort had gone, left us while we were still in England, but he’d answered any number of my questions. As long as they did not pertain to him, he did not mind speaking. In fact, he had a tendency to speak very freely.

Mort had given me as much advice as he could about Harry, and the Nightfall vampires he knew about. He told me all about the royal family and more than I’d imagined, about the surrounding village, populated entirely by thralls. Richard too had been preparing me, advising me about conduct and behaviour. He had assured me many times that I would be safe there. At least for a while. I couldn’t overstay my welcome, but their unexpectedly harsh laws against mistreating thralls, and especially guests, should even protect me from Harry.

If he attacked me there, he would suffer, in my particular circumstances, at least. Further, as a guest of Richard’s employer, Jack Bellifer, formerly Coleburn, a fledgeling who was popular and protected by Prince Aster, I was told I should be treated very well. This, at present, was a situation I was taking on faith, and so, I was terrified.

I’d fallen asleep by the time we stopped in the village, the blood loss that Harry had left me with still causing me to become easily exhausted. We spent the day resting in the village with the thralls, and I saw a little of the town.

It was old fashioned and picturesque, the residents were having some kind of seasonal festival. It was too late for midsummer, now late July, but proceedings featured a lot of fire and dancing. Richard told me that summer was the worst time for vampires, so they had a few celebrations of their own, to make the most of the short nights.

This one was something to do with the Baron’s wife, but she was not at the castle, as her husband was currently having an affair. I’ve since been told that her absences are so normal that the festival is not altered. The affairs, I have also been told, are less common, but do happen every few decades in a way that irritates her, to this degree. This is also viewed as an expected occurrence.

The food was very good too, very rich and high quality, I’m told even the poorest residents eat this way, and that the consumption of red meat is strongly encouraged. Indeed, any food that strengthens the blood is, but I have mixed feelings about that at this juncture.

A short while after sunset, I was sent for by letter. To my horror and dismay, the letter had been sent by the Baron directly. I almost fainted, but Richard promised me that it could only be good news, and was a great courtesy. I dressed in the prettiest thing I owned, a gown Harry had shown particular appreciation for, or Sir. Henry, as he is called among the vampires. I hoped it would be alright, and Richard assured me it was.

I admit, when he said that we would go to the castle, I could have collapsed from fear. Richard held my hand the entire way.

I did not stand out. All of the people were very fine, and many others were heading to the castle for the festivities. Even so, I was as white as a sheet, a feat made easier by my bloodlessness, and trembled. When I realised I was looking at the castle, I dropped my travel bag in shock. It barely stood out from the mountain, and appeared as a ruin. I’d been told to expect great grandeur, and laughed when Richard turned back to me, puzzled by my reaction.

“Is it an illusion?” I asked, unsure if my own eyes had deceived me.

He looked at the castle, then back at me and laughed, “Miriam? Did I forget to mention that it is underground?

The only part of the castle, from here, that looks different to usual is the old courtyard, which has been lined with torches. They have games up there, this time of year. I do apologise, it did look grand once, there are a few paintings I could show you, but they decided this was better.”

“Did you grow up here?”

“From between fourteen and twenty-five.” He paused, and I could tell he was wondering how unusual that was to me, “I’ll show you the games I used to play. When they are done greeting you, I’m sure they’ll let you join in with the festivities. They’d consider themselves poor hosts otherwise.”

I was less afraid after that. We went through the main gates with the villagers. They all seemed perfectly comfortable walking through the tunnel chamber. To distract myself from overthinking, I tried to remember Richard’s etiquette lessons. I’d been instructed that good manners went a long way with Nightfall, but further informed that the vampires could be more than cruel to one another.

The tunnel ended at two wide open doors, lit either side, for show. Raucous laughter echoed towards us from inside, as well as excellent music and song. Richard pointed out a colourful musician, “That’s Lord Baudelaire, he’s very safe to be around, and very popular amongst the thralls. As is Sinjen.”

By then I could see the Baron, who was drinking from a chalice at the end of the room. A very fine and grand man. His costume was a little like a king from centuries ago. At first, I was very much put in mind of theatre costumes, until I realised that the style had been modernised. The richness of the colours, and luxurious quality of the fabric he wore, implied that not only was he a real King, here, but that the design was one of their own fashions.

I started to take in the real details; the way that some of the garments, though carefully maintained, were often several decades old. Some of the jewellery looked impossibly old. Some could certainly be museum pieces. I slowed my pace, intentionally looking around while my perspective shifted. I was no longer in a fanciful vampire castle, being invited to a night of festivities as an honored guest.

Without really grasping what I had done, I now found myself in a royal court. This Baron was a king, everything I’d seen since I stepped out of the coach belonged to him. The humans all around me were bound to the service of the Baron or his clan. The vampires would be his family, and underlings. I was helpless, if the Baron said I could be harmed I would be. And this was a real nest of vampires, where I would be staying, perhaps for months. With a shudder, I remembered I would also be staying with my first love.

Brighton Pavillion was less ornate than Nightfall, even Catherine the Great’s castles couldn’t be more spectacular. Those two locations were the only ones that came to my mind in that moment. From what I’d seen in pictures and books, at least, I couldn’t imagine more finery, but the style, again, was not the same. It was its own thing, not as gaudy, either. As though they were toning down their display of wealth. I imagined they had no one to impress but each other, it was built for them, and so much darker.

Perhaps their eyes favoured such rich colours. Deep reds, purples and midnight blues were very popular on clothing. The ballroom’s walls were maroon, and it looked like the gold embellishments had been darkened. Earthy tones were very popular on the details. I looked around to see, also, that they favoured marble in dark colours, from the geometric patterns on the floor and the look of the columns. The entire ceiling was no less intricate, all gold and dark blue, but mercifully I was spared their full glory by my vain refusal to look anymore idiotic.

Richard had continued to lead me, looking around as I was, like I’d found myself on the moon. By the time I looked at the Baron again, I could make out the gems sewn into his clothing, and the rings on his fingers. It was all I could do to remember to smile. Jack was by his side, grinning, as he does, and whispering into the Baron’s ear that we were approaching. The Baron looked down at me, and though he was as unimpressed as everyone else tended to be by the sight of me, he smiled, even stood. He nodded at me and disappeared behind a curtain; He gave me just enough time to remember to bow before he turned away.

I looked at Jack, who hopped down from the stage, now quite the little prince himself. That was how he appeared, of course he was still the same roguish lout that he always had been. He beamed at me, and kissed my hand, telling me I looked stunning. As I was his guest I could hardly say ‘You’ve done well for yourself. Who knew being a pimp wasn’t your calling, you should have become a whore years ago.’ Instead, I said ‘Hello,’ but I think he garnered the rest from my expression.

“Hello, sweetie.” he said, “I’m to take you to see the Baron, in a private room, because it’s noisy here. After that come to my rooms, Rich will bring you. Oh yeah, Sinjen isn’t home yet, be back in a day or two I expect. You’ve seen him at work?” I nodded, “Well, he’s worse than that here, he’ll skin you as soon as look at you. So, if you want to talk to him, do it in the village.”

Nothing surprises me with Sinjen, so I kept my mouth shut, and followed Jack to the Baron.

Miriam stood up, and wandered over to Sinjen, who was standing by a bookshelf.

He had taken to searching for information for his vendettas. Or possibly, he liked to be near her. Both options together, were the most likely motivation. “Is this alright?” she whispered, pointing to the relevant part.

He spared it a glance, and nodded once, offering her a, “Now get away from me,” just to be safe.

There was barely anyone here, but he really would never show her affection in the castle, unless they were entirely alone, or alone with Jack or Carlotta. He’d be okay at events, or in the village, but he’d still never touch her.

If Eliza was in the same room, he was terrifying. Miriam would think he hated her, if she didn’t know that he was trying to keep her safe. Still, she’d begun to understand why nobody had anything good to say about him.

“What is it?” Lysander asked. He was reading at one of the tables. He’d been a bit bored since his wife had started sleeping with the Baron, “He’s making sure everything you write about him is up to his standard?”

“I’m afraid so.” Miriam said, and sat down across from him. Lysander yawned, and put his feet up on another seat. He showed no further interest, but she knew he was probably keeping an eye on Sinjen, for personal reasons.

Leave a comment